Admissions Committee

Faculty members for the 2022-2023 Academic Year.
Some committees have additional student, staff, and ex-officio members. See SharePoint for full committee lists.

Chair: Ashley Allen-Durrance
Associate Chair: Amanda House

Name Department Email
Jose I Aguirre Jose I Aguirre Department of Physiological Sciences aguirrej@ufl.edu
Ashley E Allen-Durrance Ashley E Allen-Durrance College of Veterinary Medicine Dean’s Office aeallen@ufl.edu
Anje G Bauck Anje G Bauck Large Animal Clinical Sciences baucka@ufl.edu
Michael V Bowie Michael V Bowie College of Veterinary Medicine Dean’s Office mbowie@ufl.edu
Ludovica Chiavaccini Ludovica Chiavaccini Department of Comparative, Diagnostic & Population Medicine lchiavaccini@ufl.edu
David E Freeman David E Freeman Large Animal Clinical Sciences freemand@ufl.edu
Lawrence N Garcia Lawrence N Garcia Small Animal Clinical Sciences garciln@ufl.edu
Simone Guerios Simone Guerios Small Animal Clinical Sciences sdguerios@ufl.edu
Darryl J Heard Darryl J Heard Department of Comparative, Diagnostic & Population Medicine heardd@ufl.edu
Amanda M House Amanda M House Large Animal Clinical Sciences housea@ufl.edu
Richard Johnson Richard Johnson Department of Physiological Sciences rdjohnso@ufl.edu
Stanley E Kim Stanley E Kim Small Animal Clinical Sciences stankim@ufl.edu
Alice C Y Lee Alice C Y Lee Department of Comparative, Diagnostic & Population Medicine alice.lee@vetmed.ufl.edu
Daniela Luethy Daniela Luethy Large Animal Clinical Sciences dluethy@ufl.edu
Martha Mallicote Martha Mallicote Large Animal Clinical Sciences mallicotem@ufl.edu
Wendy W Mandese Wendy W Mandese Small Animal Clinical Sciences wmandese@ufl.edu
Elizabeth A Maxwell Elizabeth A Maxwell Small Animal Clinical Sciences emaxwell@ufl.edu
Ayalew Mergia Ayalew Mergia Department of Infectious Diseases & Immunology mergiaa@ufl.edu
Erin Miscioscia Erin Miscioscia Department of Comparative, Diagnostic & Population Medicine emiscioscia@ufl.edu
Cuong Nguyen Cuong Nguyen Department of Infectious Diseases & Immunology nguyenc@ufl.edu
Luisito S Pablo Luisito S Pablo Department of Comparative, Diagnostic & Population Medicine pablochi@ufl.edu
Diego A Portela Diego A Portela Department of Comparative, Diagnostic & Population Medicine dportela@ufl.edu
Brittany Southern Brittany Southern Small Animal Clinical Sciences bsouthern@ufl.edu
Adam W Stern Adam W Stern Department of Comparative, Diagnostic & Population Medicine adamstern@ufl.edu
Jim Wellehan Jim Wellehan Department of Comparative, Diagnostic & Population Medicine wellehanj@ufl.edu

Duties

The admissions committee is a standing combined faculty and administrative committee with responsibility to evaluate applicants for eligibility for admission to the CVM professional curriculum.

Membership

The Associate Dean for Academics and Student Affairs (or equivalent or designate) shall serve as Chair. A minimum of twenty-six faculty members consisting of representation from each Phase (I, II, and III) of the professional DVM curriculum will constitute this committee. Additional members may be invited by the Chair including professional DVM students, faculty members from the Florida Universities, the State veterinarian, alumni council members, and Florida Veterinary Medical Association members.

Procedures

The admissions committee shall recommend the students to be admitted or readmitted to the professional degree (DVM) curriculum. The committee shall meet as necessary during the admissions cycle. All records of meetings and deliberations shall be filed in the office of the Associate Dean for Academics and Student Affairs and all materials used for evaluation must be kept in strictest confidence. An annual report to the faculty assembly shall include only statistical data and no applicant information will be publicly provided.