Curriculum Committee

Faculty members for the 2022-2023 Academic Year.
Some committees have additional student, staff, and ex-officio members. See SharePoint for full committee lists. At the beginning of each year, the committee selects an Associate Chair who is designated to become the Chair of the committee the following year.

Chair: Malgorzata A Pozor
Associate Chair: TBD

Name Department Email
David R Allred David R Allred Department of Infectious Diseases & Immunology
Sandra M Bechtel Sandra M Bechtel Small Animal Clinical Sciences
William F Craft William F Craft Department of Comparative, Diagnostic & Population Medicine
Lawrence M Fatica Lawrence M Fatica Department of Physiological Sciences
Amanda M House Amanda M House Large Animal Clinical Sciences
Christopher J Lanier Christopher J Lanier Department of Comparative, Diagnostic & Population Medicine
Fiona P Maunsell Fiona P Maunsell Large Animal Clinical Sciences
Caryn E Plummer Caryn E Plummer Small Animal Clinical Sciences
Malgorzata A Pozor Malgorzata A Pozor Large Animal Clinical Sciences
John F Roberts John F Roberts Department of Comparative, Diagnostic & Population Medicine
Julia A Wuerz Julia A Wuerz Small Animal Clinical Sciences


The curriculum committee is a standing regular faculty committee with responsibilities to recommend DVM and pre-DVM curricular changes to the faculty and to provide curriculum information to the Dean. The committee functions to (1) evaluate and monitor the professional degree curriculum including externship sites, (2) evaluate proposed curricular changes with regard to the college educational mission, available resources and both student and faculty loads, and (3) evaluate specific areas of the professional curriculum as requested by the faculty or Dean.


The committee shall include 9-12 faculty, equally representing all phases (I, II, and III) of the professional DVM curriculum. The Associate Dean for Academics and Student Affairs (or equivalent or designate), a librarian, and 2 student representatives from each veterinary class will be ex-officio, non-voting, members. One of the eight student delegates will be appointed to serve as a regular (voting) committee member (one-year term) by the Chair. An outside member, consisting of a practicing veterinarian who is a member of the Florida Veterinary Medical Association, may serve in an ex-officio, nonvoting fashion. This member will be invited to serve by the Associate Dean for Academics and Student Affairs or designate. The committee shall annually elect its own Chair from its faculty members. The Chair may be re-elected for the term of service. An Associate Chair will be elected at the start of the year who advances to the Chair position in the following year to assure adequate preparation and orderly progression to committee Chair responsibilities. The Associate Chair will serve as the acting Chair in the absence of the Chair. The minutes of these meetings will be posted for public access.


Faculty requesting curriculum changes must present their changes in writing describing the course and its contribution to the College curricula. The committee will then discuss the merits of this request and make recommendations through Faculty Council for placement on the Faculty Assembly agenda. Faculty Council will consider all submitted matters and may provide feedback as appropriate. Recommended changes to the curriculum are presented as a resolution at Faculty Assembly and require vote of the faculty for passage. Minutes shall be recorded from each meeting and placed electronically for public access.