Student-Faculty Communications and Wellness Committee

Faculty members for the 2022-2023 Academic Year.
Some committees have additional student, staff, and ex-officio members. See SharePoint for full committee lists. At the beginning of each year, the committee selects an Associate Chair who is designated to become the Chair of the committee the following year.

Co-Chair: Ian Hawkins
Associate Chair: TBD

Name Department Email
Paul W Davenport Paul W Davenport Department of Physiological Sciences
Diego De Gasperi Diego De Gasperi Large Animal Clinical Sciences
Stacey Fox-Alvarez Stacey Fox-Alvarez Small Animal Clinical Sciences
Ian K Hawkins Ian K Hawkins Department of Comparative, Diagnostic & Population Medicine
Amanda M House Amanda M House Large Animal Clinical Sciences
Margo L Macpherson Margo L Macpherson Large Animal Clinical Sciences
Christopher Vulpe Christopher Vulpe Department of Physiological Sciences


Student Faculty Communications and Wellness Committee (SFCWC) is a regular standing faculty committee to coordinate student activities and maintain effective communications between the students, the faculty and administration. The committee shall provide a forum open to all students and faculty for exchanging views on student and faculty concerns and wellness and shall seek answers and/or solutions to problems discussed.


The committee shall consist of two regular faculty members from each phase (I, II, and III) of the professional DVM curriculum. The student body from each phase shall elect eight delegates (two from each class) to meet with the committee. The Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs (or equivalent or designate) shall be an ex-officio member of this committee. The committee shall annually elect its own Chair from its faculty members. An Associate Chair will be elected at the start of the year who advances to the Chair position in the following year to assure adequate preparation and orderly progression to committee Chair responsibilities. The Associate Chair will serve as the acting Chair in the absence of the Chair.


Meetings will be open to all faculty and students. Minutes of these meetings will also be forwarded to the administration and placed electronically for public access.